Writing the thesis outline: Methodology

14 08 2009
Jinhua College student, China

Jinhua College student, Zhejiang province, China

Since last year, the blog stats have shown that the  posts and pages which got the most traffic in Devcompage are the following:

I am glad that many communication students in the Philippines and elsewhere (Australia, East Africa, Central Asia, Sri Lanka, etc.) have referred to Devcompage for thesis advice.  And I would like to oblige them further by completing the series of posts on research that I had started — from design to analysis.

So far, we have tackled writing the introduction and the review of literature. The next step would be to write the conceptual and theoretical framework. Some schools, however, do not require these so let me deal first with writing the methodology chapter.

Research methodology

The methodology chapter of a communication or social science thesis often includes the following elements:

  • Location of the study (study sites, reason for choice of site; at manuscript stage, include a location map)
  • Research design (experiment, content analysis, one-shot survey)
  • Sampling procedure (sampling method, sample size)
  • Data gathering instrument (main sections of the instrument)
  • Instrument pretesting (translation, where and how many pretest respondents)
  • Data analysis (statistical tests to apply, how data will be analyzed)
  • Data requirements matrix

Research objective

Variables

Specific question to be asked

To determine information environment of respondents.

Print readership

TV viewership

  1. Which of the following media are you exposed to:

___ 1) Newspapers

___ 2) Magazines

___ 3) Comics

___ 4) Radio

___ 5) TV

___ 6) Video

___ 7) Farmers’ meeting

2. If 1, 2 & 3 are mentioned,

2a.What newspapers do you read? ______________

2b. How often do you read

newspapers?

___1) daily

___2) every other day

___3) once a week

­­­­___4) twice a week

___5) once a month

Sample thesis methodology

Farmers’ Comprehension of Usage Instructions on Pesticide Packaging

Julieann Rae M. Aguilar

METHODOLOGY

Locale of the Study

The study was conducted in four areas of the province of Leyte, particularly in Albuera, Hilongos, Ormoc and Baybay. These places were chosen as the study sites because these are rice growing areas in the province (www.ormocnews.blogspot.com).

Research Design and Sampling Procedure

The study followed the one-shot survey research design. A sample of one hundred (100) rice farmers were randomly selected as the respondents, distributed as follows:

Town Sample size
Ormoc

Baybay

Albuera

50

25

25

An arranged exposure was conducted among the 25 randomly selected respondents from each area. After the arranged exposure, an individual interview followed.

Data Collection and Instrument

Stimulus material. Six samples of pesticide packaging with usage instructions were shown to the respondents. These samples are six different kinds of pesticides that are commonly used by rice farmers. The pesticide use instructions on pesticide packaging were categorized as follows:

WORDS VISUALS
HazardsDirections for Use

– Target pests

– Application

– Timing

–  Amount/dosage

–  Frequency

Precaution

Storage and disposal

First aid

Symbol (skull, etc.)

Pictograms

The 25 respondents from each area were gathered in a hall and each of them received copies of samples at the start of the arranged exposure. Interviews were subsequently conducted by the researcher and hired interviewers.

Interview Schedule

The interview schedule was prepared in English and then translated into Cebuano. It was composed of three parts, namely: respondents’ comprehension of pesticide use instructions, respondents’ information sources on pest management, respondents’ literacy and respondents’ socio-demographics.

Questionnaire Pretesting

Prior to the field work, the interview schedule was pretested among respondents who have the same characteristics as the actual study respondents. The pretest aimed to ensure that the questions can be understood. Any portion of the interview schedule which the respondents could understand was modified.

Focus Group Discussion

In order to complement the data that were gathered from the interviews, a focus group discussion (FGD) was conducted in one of the three study areas. There were six participants in the focus group discussion. Questions raised in the discussion dealt with respondents’ comprehension of pesticide use instructions. Respondents were asked what part of the pesticide use instructions they considered to be difficult to comprehend. Respondents were asked to give their comments or suggestions on how the packaging instructions could be improved, if there is any, on the pesticide packaging in order to facilitate understanding among farmers.

Data Analysis

Data were encoded and analyzed using the Statistical Package for Social Sciences (SPSS) version 15.0. Correlation measures such as the Pearson product moment correlation and Spearman’s rho were used to test the relationship between the respondents’ selected socio-demographics, number of information sources on pesticide application, literacy and their comprehension of pesticide use instructions. Frequencies, totals and percentages were used to present the results of the study.


Actions

Information

6 responses

1 09 2009
marky

Hello ma’am, I just wanna share to you and to all your bloggers about my first time experience in formulating and constructing the methodology for my thesis outline last semester.
It was really, really a shocking moment to me when i first looked for the theses outlines of the students from the department of development communication who have already made and finalized their thesis manuscripts. Actually, i was not expecting that in constructing a typical methodology for a thesis topic will indeed took me a lot of time and effort sorting out things in the planning stage on my questionnaires to be able for me to gather all the essential data for my thesis. After constructing the instrument i decided to get 5 t0 10 people ready for my pretest of my questionnaires during the conduct of the study, this stage will help me to determine whether the questions contained in the questionnaires are easy to be understood by the respondents, the results of the pretest will help me sort out misleading questions and for the improvement of my questionnaire.And after the data has been collected what will i do to interprete those very complicated stuffs? where in fact i need them very much (more than a lady for me over my studies), i found out that SPSS will be useful in doing all the mathematical stuffs in the study. Then based on my readings, i finally decided to make a data gathering matrix for me to sort out things step by step. The Matrix is a very essential guide to identify all the important data to be collected from my respondents on my study. Also, the location of the study made me ponder to where shall i set the geographical area for my study, this stage has indeed helped me chose where are the appropriate respondents for my thesis topic will be found. Then luckily, i came to think that my hometown in Sta. Fe is where I am suppose to conduct the study not only because the place is so familiar to me but also there are lots of people whom I can ask help in time when i shall be needing them, particularly the financial and moral support and even including some suggestions from them. Finally, now that the date of my study is fast approaching, i am now indeed trying my best to fix and finalize my thesis outline so that i could be able to present them to the student research council at the end of this semster. I am hoping that the very best that i am trying to render into my study will be enough for me to do it well and will help me graduate on time.
I Learned from this experience that passion needs hard work for me to finish things on time and not to take things for granted. Anyway, at the end of the tunnel it is me who will best benefit the fruit of l my labor.

1 09 2009
monina escalada

Mark, I’m glad that you have learned quite a lot from developing your thesis outline. The thesis is merely an application of the scientific method. That is why the first thing that I ask students in my research class is to come up with research topics and then the research question. The research question will lead you to a road map for your thesis, like how will you find answers to that question. First, you search the literature for the theory that would best explain the relationships between your key variables. Next, you draw a conceptual framework — what variable is responsible for the presumed effect? And so on.

20 03 2010
segun amidu

hi monia I sent you a mail concerning my research project my field of study is communication and media. my research topic is on sport celebrities in the media .john terry sex scandal.pls what methodology should I apply for arriving at my research? Thanks

5 12 2015
ronalene

hello good day! i am from Benguet State University. 4th year student of BSDC major in Edcomm. may i ask for your help? can you help me in coming up with my review of literature? with the title of Awareness on Senior High School Program of Pines City Natonal High School, Baguio City. Thank you so much in advance 🙂

20 02 2016
monina escalada

Ronalene, I saw your comment just now. It is already late.

16 05 2016
paul

Very informative thank you, i am a master student i have a problem distinguishing between independent variable, dependent variable and moderating variable in research.

Leave a comment